| Home | News Wire | Roster | Depth Chart | Schedule |  

Share This Page:
Bookmark and Share  

Search:

Advanced

Last 5 Entries: On Porpoise History  

Yes, I really do think they'll be good this year

Yes, I really do think they'll be good this year

In just a few hours, the Dolphins will begin their 39th regular season and I will begin my 11th as webmaster of a Dolphins' fan website.

It's a little bit stunning to me that I've been maintaining my website for 10 years now. When I started, I had no idea that this would become a permanent fixture in my life. I started the website for two reasons - as a personal tutorial in technology and to help out other Dolphins' fans like me who were much too far away from Miami to get regular news.

In the beginning, I had no idea how important the Internet would become to folks who were not computer professionals. At first, I thought that my website would only be of interest to a few computer geeks like me who couldn't get Dolphins news locally.

Later, as the Internet began to take on more prominence, I figured I'd only have the website long enough to allow the big news sites to come on line. Once the Miami Herald began their online edition, I figured my days reporting the Dolphins' news were almost over.

You see, I decided somewhere in the mid-90s that if the day came when I couldn't provide something unique to the Dolphins' fans who visited my website, I would quit and go back to just being a regular fan.

And when the Miami Herald came online, I figured that day must be close.

But here it is, 10 years after I started and while there is a lot of information that is no longer unique to Phins.com, there are still a few things that I don't see anywhere else on the web.

And as long as I continue to believe that something on Phins.com is unique to the Information Superhighway, I'll probably keep right on working on it and keep trying to make it better - in my copious free time, of course.