Home
THIS SITE
  About Phins.com
  Contact Us
  Staff
TEAM NEWS
  Team Info
  Twitter Feeds
  News Wire
  XML News
  Subscribe using any news reader
  News Articles
  Mobile News
  On Porpoise
GAMES
  Schedule
PERSONNEL
  Roster
  Depth Chart
  Training Camp
  Draft
FOR THE FANS
  Forums
  Places To Watch
  Dolphins Links
  Game Tickets
HISTORY
  Team History
  1972 Tribute
  News Archive
  Past Games
  Transactions
  Past Rosters
SUPPORT PHINS.COM
  Dolphins Fan Shop
  Phins.com Apparel
 
-- Advertisement --
Privacy Policy at Phins.com
 
  Phins.com Phorums
    News Wire | Roster | Depth Chart | Last/Next Game | Schedule | Links  
          Did you see....
Miami Dolphins Civilized Discussion :  Phins.com Phorums The fastest message board... ever.
This is a moderated phorum for the CIVILIZED discussion of the Miami Dolphins. In this phorum, there are rules and moderators to make sure you abide by the rules. The moderators for this phorum are JC and Colonel
Did you see....
Posted by: ChyrenB ()
Date: December 18, 2017 01:03PM


Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Did you see....
Posted by: jsm08 ()
Date: December 18, 2017 02:07PM

Hard to say if you have anything wrong because the rule is so convoluted.

There's something about "completing the act" of the catch and "football move".

To me he completed the catch when his knee hit the ground and then he reached for the end zone. Another thing. His right hand looks to be under the ball the entire time so even if it moved it didn't hit the ground.

The same thing happened with Cooks in the pats/texans game. It was the game winner and when he hit the ground the ball clearly moved. How did they rule that one? You guessed it. Pats TD.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Did you see....
Posted by: jsm08 ()
Date: December 18, 2017 02:08PM


Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Did you see....
Posted by: ChyrenB ()
Date: December 18, 2017 02:16PM


Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Did you see....
Posted by: JC ()
Date: December 18, 2017 04:40PM

ChyrenB Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> The Patsies get gifted by the refs yesterday
> against Pittsburgh.....
>

Yes they did. It was so bad that even some of the local Patsie fans admit that they received an early Christmas present.



>
> How many times have we seen the typical rugby type
> tug at the goalline and the runner merely sticks
> the ball in the air over the goal line and it is
> ruled a touchdown? Do I have that wrong?
>

Key word in your example is "runner" -- a few years back they modified the rules regarding possession of a catch. And it's been controversial, with several instances of interesting 'interpretations.' Of course, when an "Interpretation" happens during a Pats game, you know how the ruling will fall, whether it's a pass reception or the Tuck Rule back in the day.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Did you see....
Posted by: ChyrenB ()
Date: December 18, 2017 05:05PM

I guess I just assumed, at the time, it was a catch and what they were saying was that when he ran it into the endzone, he had to have part of his body go in the endzone along with his hands holding the ball. But instead what they said was that it wasn't even a catch because he did not have firm control until it touched down in the endzone and that the ground was the third hand completing the catch, huh?

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Did you see....
Posted by: pafinfan ()
Date: December 19, 2017 07:47AM

Isn't there a section in the rulebook that says if a late TD will cause the Pat's to lose all effort must be put into the review to reverse it?

Options: ReplyQuote


Sorry, only registered users may post in this forum.
This forum powered by Phorum.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
     
   
Home Curt Fennell
Contact Us
DOLFAN in New England
TOP
   
© Phins.com. No portion of this site may be reproduced without
the express permission of the author, Curt Fennell. All rights reserved.