Home
THIS SITE
  About Phins.com
  Contact Us
  Staff
TEAM NEWS
  Team Info
  Twitter Feeds
  News Wire
  XML News
  Subscribe using any news reader
  News Articles
  Mobile News
  On Porpoise
GAMES
  Schedule
PERSONNEL
  Roster
  Depth Chart
  Draft
FOR THE FANS
  Forums
  Places To Watch
  Dolphins Links
  Game Tickets
HISTORY
  Team History
  1972 Tribute
  News Archive
  Past Games
  Transactions
  Past Rosters
SUPPORT PHINS.COM
  Dolphins Fan Shop
  Phins.com Apparel
 
-- Advertisement --
Privacy Policy at Phins.com
 
  Phins.com Phorums
    News Wire | Roster | Depth Chart | Last/Next Game | Schedule | Links  
          Bud DuPree fined $18K
Miami Dolphins Civilized Discussion :  Phins.com Phorums The fastest message board... ever.
This is a moderated phorum for the CIVILIZED discussion of the Miami Dolphins. In this phorum, there are rules and moderators to make sure you abide by the rules. The moderators for this phorum are JC and Colonel
Bud DuPree fined $18K
Posted by: JC ()
Date: January 14, 2017 01:16PM

So the hit on Matt Moore that somehow didn't knock him out of the game and somehow didn't draw a flag, drew what amounts to a minor fine...$18K is a dinner tab for someone on an NFL salary--not much of a deterrent.



Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 01/14/2017 01:17PM by JC.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Bud DuPree fined $18K
Posted by: ChyrenB ()
Date: January 14, 2017 02:02PM

Yeah, a hit targeting the helmet. The only excuse would be accident.Were the refs just not looking? Can a penalty like that be accessed after the fact without a prior flag?

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Bud DuPree fined $18K
Posted by: JC ()
Date: January 14, 2017 03:49PM

ChyrenB Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------

> Can a penalty like that be accessed after the
> fact without a prior flag?


If you mean the $18K fine when you say 'penalty like that' yeah, they do it often when reviewing controversial plays like that, flag or no flag.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Bud DuPree fined $18K
Posted by: ChyrenB ()
Date: January 14, 2017 04:05PM

No. Sorry for being unclear. I know that the League can review plays days later and levy fines for plays even if not called penalties at the time.

but my question is when the play has just ended...and there was no flag...can the league officials IN THE STANDS then review a play on the spot and call a penalty on a player for a direct hit to the helmet where no flag was thrown on the field.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Bud DuPree fined $18K
Posted by: 808phan ()
Date: January 14, 2017 08:28PM

Chy I have to admit that after having a few beers I can't decipher what you just posted lol!

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Bud DuPree fined $18K
Posted by: colonel ()
Date: January 15, 2017 03:28AM


Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Bud DuPree fined $18K
Posted by: dgoodhue ()
Date: January 15, 2017 04:53AM

There was a penalty on the play. They gave the Dolphins 15 yards for roughing the passer, but the ref assessed Ajayi for pushing Dupree for 15 yards. So the net result was the ball didn't move and the Dolphins were given a 1st down but it was 1st and 25.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Bud DuPree fined $18K
Posted by: JC ()
Date: January 15, 2017 06:42AM

dgoodhue Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> There was a penalty on the play. They gave the
> Dolphins 15 yards for roughing the passer, but the
> ref assessed Ajayi for pushing Dupree for 15
> yards. So the net result was the ball didn't move
> and the Dolphins were given a 1st down but it was
> 1st and 25.


So one player pushing another is effectively more of a penalty than a vicious hit on a QB. Nice going, officials!

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Bud DuPree fined $18K
Posted by: JC ()
Date: January 15, 2017 06:43AM

ChyrenB Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
>
> but my question is when the play has just
> ended...and there was no flag...can the league
> officials IN THE STANDS then review a play on the
> spot and call a penalty on a player for a direct
> hit to the helmet where no flag was thrown on the
> field.


I don't think that's a reviewable situation. I could be wrong but I've never seen a penalty get called that way.

Options: ReplyQuote


Sorry, only registered users may post in this forum.
This forum powered by Phorum.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
     
   
Home Curt Fennell
Contact Us
DOLFAN in New England
TOP
   
© Phins.com. No portion of this site may be reproduced without
the express permission of the author, Curt Fennell. All rights reserved.